North American Wetlands Conservation Act 2017-07-27T13:41:54+00:00

The North American Wetlands Conservation Act

U.S. Standard Grants Deadlines: Feb 27, 2015 and July 7, 2015.
U.S. Small Grants Deadlines: Nov 5, 2015

The North American Wetlands Conservation Act (NAWCA) provides federal funds specifically to “conserve North American wetland ecosystems and waterfowl and the other migratory birds and fish and wildlife that depend on such habitats.” NAWCA and matching funds may only be used for wetlands acquisition, creation, enhancement, and/or restoration. Proposals require at least a 50/50 nonfederal match.


NAWCA Standard Grants

A North American Wetlands Conservation Act standard grant proposal is a 4-year plan of action supported by a NAWCA grant and partner funds to conserve wetlands and wetlands-dependent fish and wildlife through acquisition (including easements and land title donations), restoration and/or enhancement, with a grant request between $50,001 and $1,000,000.

Standard grant instructions are available on the NAWCA Web site.

NAWCA Small Grants

In conjunction with the Standard Grants program, the North American Wetlands Conservation Council (Council) has created a Small Grants program. The objective is to promote long-term wetlands conservation activities through encouraging participation by new grantees and partners who may not otherwise be able to compete in the Standard Grants program. Small grants (up to $75,000) are administered separately. Match must be non-Federal and at least equal the grant request (referred to as a 1:1 match). Match is eligible up to 2 years prior to the year the proposal is submitted and grant and match funds are eligible after the proposal is submitted and through the project period.

Small grant instructions are available on the NAWCA Web site.

NAWCA Resources

NAWCA Areas of Continetal Importance for the Atlantic Coast Joint Venture
These maps are used for Technical Assessment Question #3, Part A, National Priority Wetland Areas. Applicants are to look at the National Priority Maps at the link, and make a determination if their proposal is in the National Priority Wetland areas for Waterfowl, Waterbirds, Shorebirds, Landbirds and NAWCA shorebird areas of continental importance.

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service NAWCA web page

Download Google Earth to view kmz files
Download ARC GIS Explorer to view shapefiles

kmz file

To view kmz file (coming soon)

kmz file

kmz file

NAWCA Coastal Watershed
kmz file